Sunday, July 3, 2016

Read another book. Because it's THE LONG WEEKEND



"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? 
 
At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air, which features a Foreword by Dr. Abraham Verghese and an Epilogue by Kalanithi’s wife, Lucy, chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a na├»ve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a young neurosurgeon at Stanford, guiding patients toward a deeper understanding of death and illness, and finally into a patient and a new father to a baby girl, confronting his own mortality.
 
What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir."


~~~~~~~

So.
Not light reading at all.

But I love Anne Lammott and Atul Gawande. And I'm on a run of memoirs lately. 
And this was good. 

Three things I'm thankful for:

1. People who share their stories.
2. That I wasn't the only person in church on Saturday night. 
3. Three fifths of my family is here, and we had a late dinner on the deck by candlelight, after I got back from church and the new Home Depot where I bought an axe ten minutes before closing and two men flirted with me in the axe aisle WHAT and we had salmon BBQed by Clint and it was perfect. 

No comments: