Monday, August 29, 2016


Tricia did this on her blog, and posted her 2016 answers along with a link to her 2006 answers. I am SO impressed. I don't link to any of my past posts because I don't remember them, and if I did, I wouldn't be able to find them. (I've posted over 4300 times. WHAT IN THE WORLD HAVE I BEEN TALKING ABOUT?) I've been at this for 12 years. 

TWELVE YEARS. ( I just went back and looked over my first few posts. Haha. Whoa. Life was so different then). 

In between my answers will be pics I took on Friday night in Vancouver while walking around with Sandra looking at the new murals that've been painted on the sides of buildings in the Mount Pleasant area. 

Accent: If Canadians have an accent, then that's what I've got. 

Booze of choice: Still not a drinker. But if I ever were to take it up, it would likely be something slushy and fruity and fattening. 

Chores I hate: All of them. I'm at the lake and I thought I'd wash the floors, the windows, the window sills, vacuum, do the bathrooms, sort out the kitchen cupboards, clean out the fridge and sweep the decks. And yet, here I am blogging. And a few hours ago? I went through the years 2006, 2007, 2014, 2015 and 2016 for pics for the slide show at Drew and Danica's wedding. The earlier years take forever to review... in 2006 I had 103 folders with photos of the kids. Whereas in 2015? I had 109 folders of sunset pics and 4 of the kids. I miss those olden, golden days. 

Dog or Cats: Neither. I know pet lovers will disagree with me, but I see them as just another chore.

Essential electronics: Camera. Laptop and Kindle. 

Favorite cologne: I don't wear perfume. For no reason other than I never think to buy any. It's been, like twenty years since I've worn a scent, and I wouldn't even know where to start. I do smell like a tropical fruit tho, with my mango scented hand cream...

Gold or silver:  I haven't worn jewelry in years. I bought that ring in 2012; wore it sporadically til I lost it (then had it returned to me)  and haven't worn it since. Of the two, I prefer silver.

Hometown: Born in Vancouver but raised in Surrey. Have spent most of my adult life yo-yoing back and forth between Langley and Surrey as if I'm attached to an elasticized umbilical cord. 

Insomnia: I just like to stay up late. Not because I can't sleep, but because there's so much to read or think about, or plan for. And if I've been out all day at work, and then all evening with a friend, I STILL like to have an hour or two of downtime, being awake. Haha. 

Job title: My business card says Director Of Creative Production. Which is a fancy way of saying I make lists all the live long day. It's a good fit for me. 

Living arrangements: I sleep in a bedroom in the basement of my mom's house about 4 - 5 days a week. All of my belongings (other than my essential electronics, my clothes and makeup) have been in boxes for three years. The other days I sleep at the cottage at Cultus Lake. It's been a great ride, but I'm hoping to make some changes this fall. God willing.

Most admired trait: Is hair a trait? I don't think it is. But that's what I hear most often about myself. I can grow hair like a boss. 

Overnight hospital stays: Three times to give birth to three boys via C-section. 

Phobias: Definition: "a persistent, irrational fear of a specific object, activity, or situation 
that leads to a compelling desire to avoid it." With that in mind, I have phobias about snakes, spiders, rats, mice, possums, large parties/social gatherings where I know only one or two people, spontaneous requests to speak in public, massages where I need to take all my clothes off. 

Quote: For such a time as this...
and Bloom where you are planted. 

Religion: Copying Tricia's answer: Saved by the grace of Jesus

Siblings: Younger bro and sister. Because of them I have every single first born quality ever invented. 

Time I wake up: On the weekends? I wake up when I stop sleeping. Which is usually noon. On work days? My alarm goes off at 7:39 am. I get out of bed at 8:15. 

Unusual talent/skill: My skin generally tans without burning. Which is something, I guess, considering the blonde hair and fair skin? Is that a talent? Not really. OK. Lemme think. 
... *ten minutes later... I got nothing. 

Veggies I refuse to eat: It's not so much that I refuse to eat them, per se, it's just that I never have. I was going to list the ones I haven't eaten based on the Wikipedia List of Vegetables. OH MY GOODNESS. I had no idea there were so many. I've eaten a total of about 6. 

Worst habit:Taking a second helping. Having chocolate and sweet tarts as my go to snack. Staying up too late. Not exercising regularly. Wasting time daydreaming.

Yummiest food I make: Chocolate cupcakes with buttercream icing. Chocolate cake with Cream Cheese Amaretto icing. Cheesecake with strawberries. Other than that? I have no confidence in any meals that I make. As the kids got older and were introduced to meals prepared in restaurants or girlfriend's homes, it became obvious that I was lacking in creative culinary endeavors. Watching friends throw together amazing, flavor-filled meals with ingredients I'd never heard of, is humbling. Left on my own, I'd have Rice Krispies for breakfast, a hotdog or ham sandwich for lunch and a tuna casserole for dinner. Every. Single. Day. 

Zodiac sign: Gemini. Not that I care. Other than my brother Jim n I are Gemini. Haha.

Yes, I noticed too, that this list was missing a K and an X word. 
Good thing, because I ran out of photos at V. 

Three things I'm thankful for:

1. A discouraging week does not mean the rest of one's life is going to be awful.

2. Fresh air, clean water, safe streets.

3. He hears the words I don't know how to say. 


No comments: